Commercial Pilot Knowledge Test Guide
page-template-default,page,page-id-15551,page-child,parent-pageid-15406,bridge-core-1.0.4,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,side_menu_slide_from_right,qode-theme-ver-18.0.9,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_top,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.7,vc_responsive

Commercial Pilot Knowledge Test Guide

Commercial Pilot Knowledge Test Guide: What is required to become a skilled and competent commercial pilot? Although some individuals possess more knowledge and skills than others, no one is a natural-born pilot. Competent commercial pilots become so through study, training, and experience. This knowledge test guide will answer most of your questions about taking a commercial pilot knowledge test. It will cover the following areas: knowledge test eligibility requirements; knowledge areas on the tests; descriptions of the tests; process for taking a knowledge test; use of test aids and materials; cheating or other unauthorized conduct; validity of Airman Test Reports; retesting procedures; and practical test eligibility requirements. This guide will help in preparing you to take one or all of the following knowledge tests.


Commercial Pilot—Airplane
Commercial Pilot—Rotorcraft–Helicopter
Commercial Pilot—Rotorcraft–Gyroplane
Commercial Pilot—Glider
Commercial Pilot—Balloon–Hot Air
Commercial Pilot—Balloon–Gas
Commercial Pilot—Lighter-Than-Air–Airship
Military Competency—Airplane
Military Competency—Helicopter


*About the Author:
The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) is an agency of the United States Department of Transportation with authority to regulate and oversee all aspects of civil aviation in the U.S. (National Airworthiness Authority). The Federal Aviation Act of 1958 created the group under the name “Federal Aviation Agency”, and adopted its current name in 1967 when it became a part of the United States Department of Transportation. The Federal Aviation Administration’s major roles include: Regulating U.S. commercial space transportation. Regulating air navigation facilities’ geometry and Flight inspection standards. Encouraging and developing civil aeronautics, including new aviation technology. Issuing, suspending, or revoking pilot certificates. Regulating civil aviation to promote safety, especially through local offices called Flight Standards District Offices. Developing and operating a system of air traffic control and navigation for both civil and military aircraft. Researching and developing the National Airspace System and civil aeronautics. Developing and carrying out programs to control aircraft noise and other environmental effects of civil aviation.